Concealed Carry: What You Need to Know in Colorado
If you are looking to acquire a concealed carry permit in Colorado, we at Bristlecone, an indoor shooting range in Lakewood, can help you. Our facilities include a state-of-the-art shooting range, a training center and a full retail shop, and our instructors can offer you expert firearm training on a number topics, including concealed carry basics.
Here’s what you should know concealed carry (CCW) laws in Colorado.
- Title 18 in Colorado allows a person to carry a firearm in a vehicle if its use is for lawful protection of such person or another person’s property. Colorado law also allows a person to possess a handgun in a dwelling, place of business, or automobile. However, when you carry the weapon into your home, business, hotel room, etc. it must be in plain view.
- Title 22 in Colorado allows you to may carry a weapon in your vehicle. However it is unlawful for any person, except a person authorized by law or by the division, to possess or have under his control any firearm, other than a pistol or revolver, in or on any motor vehicle unless the chamber of such firearm is unloaded. A “muzzle-loader” shall be considered unloaded if it is not primed, and, for such purpose, “primed” means having a percussion cap on the nipple or flint in the striker and powder in the flash pan.
- A concealed carry permit can be obtained through the sheriff’s office in the county where you live. A permit to carry a concealed weapon that is issued to a person (who is at least 21 years of age) by another state will be considered valid in Colorado if the other state, in turn, recognized Colorado’s concealed handgun.
Our next Fundamentals of Concealed Carry, Part I and Part II, will take place on April 28-29. It is a six-hour, two-night course designed to give students information on concealed carry, including the firearms best for concealed carry, how to carry them safely and securely, and how to use them efficiently in the context of a dynamic critical incident. The class also introduces new shooters to some of the core basics of the Defensive Focus® Shooting program, as well as aspects of handgun ownership and information (firearm safety, holster selection, live fire drills in the range, alternate force options, and interacting with law enforcement and the aftermath of an incident). The cost is $150 for the six-hours of training and covers CCW certificate and permit.
To register for Fundamentals for Concealed Carry or to learn more about Bristlecone, visit www.bristleconeshooting.com/ or call 303-985-0989.